top of page
  • Writer's pictureCaroline St. Paul

Weekend in Starkville

Last weekend, I got to FINALLY visit one of my long-time besties, Izzy, at Mississippi State in Starkville, Mississippi! It was such a fun time, and definitely a getaway that I needed. It's always fun when we get to hang out, and she was such a hospitable host! Thanks for a fabulous weekend Izzy! Here's a recap of my time as a bulldog for a weekend!


 

Set off for the 4 hour drive on Friday. It was not as bad as I thought! Vera Bradley duffel, Aloha waterproof pouch, white luggage from HSN, clear stadium approved backpack, tretorns, comfy leggings, & a cozy cardigan from TJ Maxx!

Izzy's apartment was absolutely precious! Here's her breakfast table

 

When I first got there, I was absolutely in awe of how adorable Izzy's apartment was. It looks so charming, as it is an older apartment. Izzy and I drove around, and she showed me the campus. I must admit, before this weekend, I thought Starkville was more rural than it really is. To my surprise, I was definitely wrong! The campus is very hilly and beautiful, filled with lots of trees, and gorgeous architecture. Homes in Starkville are historic and lovely as well. I visited at the perfect time, as I got to see the fall leaves! For a large university, it is also very "walkable," with everything being pretty compact. We saw her class buildings and sorority and fraternity row, as well as the stadium, before attending a basketball game. It was so neat to see all of this, as I did not go to a large university for college. After the game, we met up with two of her sweet friends for dinner. We ate at Restaurant Tyler, a nice restaurant in the historic downtown area. While we waited for our table, we got drinks at the bar. The meal was delicious and such a nice welcome! After dinner, we drove to The Cotton District, which is an area filled with mostly bars and cool college hangout spots. I really liked this area and all of the pretty architecture. We went to The Bin 612, which was a really chill bar where we could sit and sip drinks outside on the patio leisurely, but also experience the atmosphere of the lively district around us. When we were finished, it was an easy and short walk back to Izzy's apartment.




Asian Noodle Bown & a Moscow Mule at Restaurant Tyler



The Bin 312...I loved this place!




The next day was college game day! We started our morning by grabbing breakfast at a local favorite downtown, Starkville Cafe, and I ate some of the most delicious pancakes I have ever had! After we got ready, we walked back down to the Cotton District to a super cute miniature bar called Klaasroom. They specialize in mimosa and Bloody Mary "towers," which is just an endless supply for a group of people. We ordered mimosas and amaretto sours to start off the day. Izzy's boyfriend is in the fraternity, phi gamma delta, so we had the luxury of tailgating at their house for most of the day. We walked down to the main tailgating area called The Junction, to check out the scene and see the football players make their run into the stadium! Like I said, I never experienced college like this, so it was enjoyable for me.


Delicious short stack to start off the day!

Starkville Cafe



The Cotton District & Klaasroom


The Cotton District & Bin 612 in the daylight

My top is from Francesca's, skirt is from Forever 21

Tailgating at The Junction


 

The game was so much fun! We got really good seats and stayed until the fourth quarter when it was obvious the bulldogs were going to take the win. We enjoyed a nice dinner with Izzy's boyfriend's family and took some photos in front of the "Welcome to Starkvegas" sign, which was fun!






Ended the day with a bath; who's surprised.


 

The next morning, we slept in, then got biscuits from The Biscuit Shop, another highly popular spot in Starkville. They bake a ton of different varieties of biscuits for the day, and then once they sell out of all of them, that's it! Luckily, we bought the last few blueberry biscuits, and enjoyed them over at Izzy's house for a Sunday morning breakfast. They were seriously delicious, and I now understand the hype around this place.


Driving in town & blueberry biscuits

Overall, it was such a jam-packed, fun weekend! I am so glad I made the four hour drive up to "Starkvegas" and I can't wait to go back possibly in the spring!

39 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page